16 Little Angels

I’m a day late with my blog post.

I’m not ok with that, but I hope you will forgive me. I’ve been wrestling with my feelings around the recent tragedy in Newtown, CT, and debating if I should write about it. One of my nephews is in kindergarten, and he is one of the most precious people in my life. I was visiting my nephews this past weekend, when the events occurred that will forever be burned in our minds.

Since this blog is about my explorations about life, love and happiness, I decided to replace the post I had scheduled. This is so much more on my mind at the moment.

As the holidays approach and a time for self-reflection begins, take some time to consider what truly matters in your life. For me, I was ever so grateful to be able to hold that squirmy little boy close and dream about the wonderful, long life he will hopefully live, filled with joy, happiness and lots of love.

I turned off the television and stopped reading the news articles about the person who did this. Instead, I choose to cherish and adore my nephews, and celebrate the bravery and sacrifice offered so openly.

This video resonates with me, especially the piece about the ’16 little angels’ that were saved that day as a result of a young woman’s bravery. That’s where I choose to focus my energy. Enjoy, and please share if this does resonate with you as well. We can’t undo the tragedy of what occurred, but we can help encourage positive to result from it.

1 thought on “16 Little Angels

Leave a comment